Two days ago I whipped up a batch of cookies that my family happens to adore. They are my gluten-free version of oatmeal butterscotch cookies. I had my King Arthur Flour Cookie mix, my certified gluten-free Glutenfreeda oatmeal and Nestle butterscotch morsels. I thought I was good to go since I had made these before.
As everything was mixing I happened to read the label on the butterscotch morsels and there it was, play as day, right in front of my eyes…barley protein…listed right there in the ingredients. Barley protein is not gluten-free.
I went to the web to check it out and apparently I should have been buying the Hershey butterscotch morsels…at least according to the posters on various blogs.
The point is that even after careful adherence to a gluten-free diet for the past seventeen years, it was foolish of me not to read the label on something I just assumed to be safe. It is actually a cringe-worthy mistake because I know I have made many, many batches of these cookies.
Lesson learned…even when you think all that could possibly be in something is sugar…you have got to read the label. The rest of my family very much enjoyed these cookies, I did not!